Looking Back on Freshmen Year

As I’m sitting here on the plane from Texas heading back home, I can’t help but reflect on the craziness these past nine months have been. These have definitely been the best nine months of my life.  It wasn’t always easy; I shed some tears in the beginning and used to get frustrated at God to why He led me to a University so far from my family…friends…and comfort zone. But as I reflect on what God has done so far in my time here, I can’t help but feel absolutely overwhelmed with gratitude and thankfulness.  I couldn’t be more thankful that God led me to choose Baylor and I’m bursting with excitement (literally) to see God work during my next three years in my second home in Waco!

 At the end of the school year, particularly a college school year, I think it’s fun to look back and see how much I’ve changed. This biggest way that I’ve changed is that I’ve become more aware of who God is and His presence in my life.  It’s not like I wasn’t aware of Him in high school. I loved God and my relationship with Him grew tremendously during that time of my life.  But, I believe that college is a huge time where one’s faith becomes their own.  It’s easy to just “go along” with your parent’s and “do things” just because your parents encourage it and do it themselves. (ex: like attending church, or having a daily quiet time, etc).  Personally, I think that being on my own and having to do life without any parental guidance or anything really made me aware of God and His presence – in not anymore so my “family’s life”, but more so my personal life and walk with Him.  This has been a huge blessing in my life as it has helped me grow in my walk with Christ. I know this is just the beginning! (Btw – His presence is still so visible in my “family’s life”…what I’m trying to say is that I have a strong desire in my own heart to follow Jesus and serve Him, whereas I think it’s easy in high school to just have that desire because your parents have that desire for you.) 

 In high school, I never dated around – simply because I knew that I wanted to date with the intention and purpose of marriage, and I knew I wasn’t ready for that in high school.  So, my friends and I in high school would always joke around and say that I’m going to find my “Prince Charming” right when I walk onto campus and we would fall in love right away. I had this one joke with a friend, that the first guy who would hold the door open for me would be “the one”…I guess when we had that joke going, I didn’t think I’d be going to school in the south where every guy holds open the door for you. It’s not like northern Virginia 🙂 Anyways, as I started school, I was on the prowl for the guy I had waited for my whole life…needless to say, I’m still single 🙂 I’ll be honest, it wasn’t always easy being single, especially when a lot of my friends are in relationships.  Throughout this time of waiting, God has really taught me to be patient and to trust Him.  I know that God’s timing is perfect.  It’s easy to reflect on those phrases and think of them as so “cliché”…but I truly believe that when we wait with dependence on our Savior (it doesn’t have to just be in regards to relationships!), it can be a reflection of Him in our life.  And doesn’t God call us to be imitators of Him? (Ephesians 5:1).   I’ve also learned that the more I depend on Him (for anything) the more He reveals about Himself to me. I’ve learned so much about God during this time of waiting! Praise Him!

Leave a Reply

